Latest News Headlines
On-Air Now
Listen Live

Climate change chair announced

Thu, 11 Jul 2019

A climate scientist and former chief executive of the Scottish Environment Protection Agency has been appointed as the independent chair to lead the Isle of Man’s climate change action plan.

Professor James Curran, who was awarded an MBE for his services to the environment in 2007, will lead the Climate Emergency Consultative Transformation Team (CECTT). The team will be made up of MLC Mrs Jane Poole-Wilson, MHK Mr Ralph Peake, representatives of government departments and climate change specialists.

In June, Tynwald unanimously agreed to set up a dedicated climate emergency transformation team.

The CECTT will be responsible for producing a climate change action plan that will go to Tynwald in January 2020. The team will also inform the Climate Change Bill due to be introduced next year.


Subscribe to get Energy FM News direct to your mobile device

You can get Energy FM News delivered direct to your mobile device using one of the following methods.

  • In the Apple News App on iOS search for Energy FM IOM and then just add it to your favourites
  • In the Google News & Weather App just search for Energy FM and then add us as a customised section
  • If you use an RSS Reader then just add our feed to your app, click here for our news RSS feed