Latest News Headlines
On-Air Now
Listen Live

Record breaking lap in TT Zero for Rutter

Wed, 05 Jun 2013

Electric! as the TT Zero rounds Gooseneck
Electric! as the TT Zero rounds Gooseneck

Michael Rutter and MotoCzysz took a thrilling victory in the SES TT Zero race in glorious conditions on the Isle of Man this morning, officially breaking the previous clean emissions lap record that he set last year. The Midlands rider smashed the record unofficially earlier in the week during practice on the MotoCzysz 2013 bike, but only narrowly took victory from Mugen rider John McGuinness. Rutter's new record official is a time of 20:38.46 (109.675mph), beating his time last year (21:45.33/104.056) by over a minute.

John McGuinness was not far behind Michael Rutter, lapping with a time of 20:40.13 (109.527mph) on the Mugen machine. The Morecambe missile showed that he can be just as competitive in the Zero class as he is in the other classes at TT 2013. Robert Barber, the 2009 race winner, took the final podium place on the Ohio State University machine, which lapped the Mountain course in 25:02.467 (90.403mph). Rutter’s American MotoCzysz teammate, Mark Miller unfortunately retired at Ballaugh Bridge with a broken gear box.

George Spence on the Kingston University bike was next to finish the race with a time of 25:41.82 (88.096mph), followed by Chris McGahan on the Vercarmoto at 83.857mph.

After announcing that this would be his last TT, Ian Lougher paid tribute to Yoshinari Matsushita on the Komatti Mirai machine with a time of 27:46.30 (81.515mph). David Madsen-Mygdal on the Imperial and Paul Owen on the Brunel University machine completed the group in today’s one lap race.

Bookmark and Share